Memorial Day

It may seem weird, but Memorial Day is one of my favorite holidays. I love the history, I love the ceremony. My town hardly does anything throughout the year. Seriously, a town meeting is about as exciting as it usually gets around these parts. But, Memorial Day is the one day out of the year that we have a parade and the townspeople come out to the park together. My favorite part of the day is when they release a wreath from the bridge in honor of those who died at sea. It is such a symbolic motion and every year it makes me cry.

This year I walked in the parade. I wore a Civil War style dress recreated from one Mary Todd Lincoln wore. I made the mistake of going for authenticity and wearing the boots that go with the outfit. 1 mile parade route later, my feet were sore.

As per my usual after a long walk and sore feet, I went to the local pond and went swimming. The water was so nice, despite the fish that was following me (no, seriously, this fish kept following me!)

After a good swim, I went to the park to have a picnic and play on the swings. Swings are by far the best playground equipment ever. I left the park to go to dance class, where I ended up staying an extra 30 minutes to work on a routine for recital.

Today was a good day. Happy Memorial Day everyone.

 

About fatgirlrunning2016

I am 28 years old, 330lbs, an avid dancer and 5k runner in training. I am the producer of a theater company, Recycled Shakespeare Company. I enjoy writing and have found that blogging keeps me motivated while sharing with others my experiences with running. I hope that I encourage someone to go stay physically active.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

